Having experiened the ghettos in Kyoto, Mikao Usui developed the Five Principles of Reiki also referred to as ‘The Gokai’.The aim of the principles is to guide a practitioner of Reiki and ultimately find the right path. We should all strive to live by these principles and abide by them at all times.

Some Reiki Masters have created their own set of principles based on the original set.

As Reiki and the practices of Reiki healing has evolved and developed, so to have the principles to fit into modern cultures and attitudes.

 Reiki principle 1 – ‘Just for today, I will not be angry’

Allowing anger towards oneself, others or the world in general will, over time create blockages in the energy flow and create chakra inbalance, ultimately leading to poor health and lack of  ‘life force energy’.

Let go of anger and bring peace to the mind.

Reiki principle 2 – ‘Just for today, I will not worry’

Constant worry can have a negative effect on your life and the lives of the people around you, creating imbalance and a lack of structure.  Do not worry about something that may or may not occur in the future; instead, live for the moment.

Let go of worry and healing to the body.

 Reiki principle 3 – ‘Just for today, I will be grateful’

Leave materialistic thoughts and actions behind. Look around and be grateful of the life that you have and consider those that are less fortunate. A simple thank you, a smile or kind words will generate a moment of positivity that lasts a lifetime.

Be thankful and bring joy into the spirit

 Reiki principle 4 – ‘Just for today, I will do my work honestly’

Live a respectable, truthful and honest life. Work with integrity in support of oneself and family and without disrespect for others.

Work honestly and bring abundance into the soul.

Reiki principle 5 – ‘Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing’

The final principles promote kindness to every living thing, everything in nature. Show respect and understanding to everyone.

Be kind and bring love into the will.


Related Reiki Content:

  1. Healing Crystals
  2. Reiki Music
  3. Chakras

Tagged with:

Filed under: Reiki Healing Information

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!